The Great American City

In honor of the upcoming quintessential American holiday–the 4th of July–I decided to blog about my favorite US cities. This week’s theme is not rooftop bars, but it could be. Join me on a tour of some of my favorite urban areas of the United States, even though it’s hard to just pick ten American cities.

Let’s start our journey in New York City with a visit to the Top of Rockefeller Center and a drink at the cool rooftop bar at 230 Fifth. We’ll next walk through Boston via the Freedom Trail and a quacktastic duck tour, which I’ve already written about in my I Love Boston blog. Then, we’ll spend some time in Washington DC, where I’d take you on a virtual tour of my favorite spots in the nation’s capital–including the best time to tour the monuments (nighttime) and my favorite spot for a drink overlooking it all at the W’s POV Terrace. Since we’re so close to Baltimore, we shall stop at Camden Yard for an Orioles game, take a boat ride from nearby City Harbor, and sing the Star Spangled Banner at Fort McHenry.

We’ll hit Chicago during the best time of the year–summertime!–and check out the Bean at Millennium Park and enjoy drinks at the Trump Tower’s rooftop terrace overlooking the Wrigley Building. After our visit to the friendly Midwest, our patriotic journey will take us to Nashville, which we’d soon refer to as “Nashvegas” after spending an evening at the honky-tonks on Broadway, especially at the world-famous Tootsie’s Orchid Lounge. I would also take you to Dallas, my adoptive hometown, which I have already introduced you to A Weekend in Dallas.

The last three cities we’re going to while celebrating Independence Day are out west, starting with Las Vegas! In addition to hitting the City of Sin Like a Local, we might hit Hoover Dam or go on a day trip to the Grand Canyon. We’ll need some California love next, and there is no better place to find that than San Francisco! There, we’ll have to walk across the Golden Gate Bridge, as well as partake of dim sum in Chinatown and an afternoon jaunt around Haight Ashbury. And lastly, we’d visit the Pacific Northwest, with a trip to Seattle. I’d introduce you to my friends–the Fremont Troll and the Space Needle…and of course, we’d stop by the Pike Place Market and the original Starbucks.

I included more photos this week, partially to acquiesce to a reader’s request last week, as well as to enhance your tour this week. To my readers in the US, I wish you a wonderful 4th of July, filled with fireworks, firing up the grill, and time with family and friends. If you check out my blog from abroad, I hope you enjoyed your trip through the United States! Either way, what’s YOUR favorite American city?

Leave a Reply

