The Best Hotels in the World

Travel + Leisure recently debuted its annual list of the world’s best hotels, and I scoured the list of the top 100 to see if I had stayed at any of these top ranked properties. The travel Twitterverse was abuzz with all of this news, and it made me think of some of my favorite stays. From overlooking the tallest building in the world to my favorite New York City boutique hotel, I’ve had the opportunity to have stayed at some incredible places. Here are my top five hotels:

  • JW Marriott Phuket: right on the water, this incredible property is stunningly gorgeous, has an incredible staff, and is the perfect place to get away from it all.

    Beachside in Phuket

    Beachside in Phuket

  • The Palmer House: my absolute favorite place to stay in Chicago, this now Hilton property was rebuilt several times during its history. The lobby ceilings are absolutely exquisite!
  • The Address: one can see the tallest building in the world, as well as walk to the Mall of Dubai, from this elegant urban hotel.
  • On the Avenue: a darling boutique hotel in the heart of Manhattan (which is currently being transformed into a NYLO property), On the Ave is located on Broadway and West 77th. 
  • A three-way tie: as I’m hoping that one of the places that I’m going to stay during my upcoming vacation makes my top 5 list. In Athens, we will be within walking distance of the Acropolis at the King George. Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa will be our home away from home in the Ionian Island town of Corfu, and the Hilton Imperial will welcome us within the historic city walls of Dubrovnik.

What hotels did I–or the experienced team at T&L–miss? What hotels or resorts would make your list?

3 thoughts on “The Best Hotels in the World

  1. I’m looking forward to staying at the Burj al Arab and Park Hyatt in Dubai and Park Hyatt in Paris next month on our 10th anniversary trip. I’m hoping the Burj lives up to its reputation.

  2. W New York on Lexington has become my must stay in New York; Jumeirah Emirates Towers, Dubai when traveling for work and their shuttle takes you to all of their other hotels including access to their beach; Hotel Post, Zermatt with beautiful views of the Matterhorn; Hotel Weber Ambassador, Capri

    • And I can’t believe I didn’t mention the Pagoda House at The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls, The Big Island, Hawaii. You will have your own personal waterfall!

Leave a Reply

